|
|
|||||||
| Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
Today I received an e-mail from PayPal for a $699.99 notebook computer that I did not order! It was to be sent to Wayne E. Bakewell at 16 Elm Stree in Brownsville, PA. I looked up the phone number for that address (724-785-6162) and, of course, it was disconnected.
Please someone put a stop to this madness now! |
|
|||
|
Dan Shakespeare is correct. These emails have nothing to do with PayPal whatsoever. They are not sent through PayPal's network or by PayPal employees (unless they have a second job as a criminal). This is a scam email of a type commonly called "phishing". You are supposed to be alarmed by the email. You click on the link that is supposed to cancel the transaction. It takes you to a website that is setup to look like the PayPal website. I did not click on the link (just to be safe), but it probably has a form to enter your PayPal user id and p***word. Unless you are one of the first persons to receive the email and you read the email soon after it is sent, the web page/web site has probably been shut down because someone has notified the hosting service that the website is a scam. This usually happens very quickly because of the large number of emails sent. However, the perpetrators of this scam can make a new website with a different host and just update the email with the new URL. In this way, the same scam can continue for months. It looks like this is the case with this scam judging by the dates of the posts, although other criminals may have simply copied the email and setup their own website(s).
|
|
|||
|
I just received this....
Dear member, This email confirms that you have paid orders@dell.com $699.99 USD using PayPal. This credit card transaction will appear on your bill as "PAYPAL *DELL INC". Payment Details Purchased From<*** ***="images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" cl***="inline***" />ell.Inc Item # Item Title Quantity Price Subtotal 250016390196 New Dell Inspiron 1520 Notebook Computer (Core Duo T5450 1.66GHz//2GB) Laptop 1 $669.95 USD $669.95 USD Shipping & Handling via USPS First Cl*** Mail to 154XX (includes any seller handling fees) $19.16 USD Shipping Insurance (optional): -- Sales Tax (6.000% inPA) : $10.88 USD Total: $699.99 USD Note:Thank you! Shipping Information Shipping Info: Wayne E Bakewell 16 elm st Brownsville, PA 15417 United States |
|
|||
|
I've just received one, too -- so I scroogled "hoax paypal" to see if anyone else had one -- and it's been going on for more than a year. I will just delete the e-mail -- hope nothing happens to my account!
Dear PayPal user , This email confirms that you have paid Denise Stelmat ([1]denise_stelmat@yahoo.com) $163.99 USD using PayPal. This credit card transaction will appear on your bill as "PAYPAL Denise Stelmat". __________________________________________________ __________ PayPal Shopping Cart Contents Item Name: [pixel.gif] Apple iPod Fourth Gen (40 GB, MAC/PC - M9268LL/A) MP3 Player Quantity:1 Total: $169.99 Cart Subtotal: $148.99 USD Sales Tax: ] $15.00 USD Cart Total: ] $163.99 Shipping Information Shipping Info: ] Michael R Murphy 14092 Ridge Ranch Court Vaalley Center, CA 92082 United States Address Status: Unconfirmed [scr_symQuestion.gif] If you haven't authorized this charge, click the link below to cancel the payment and get a full refund. [2]****s://***.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_flow&SESSION=ESw 8_T0x06uI3w28o_1-8wnict7WdyMn9ccA311tKw7 __________________________________________________ __________ Thank you for using PayPal! The PayPal Team Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For ***istance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the footer of any page. [pixel.gif] PayPal Email ID PP133320 [pixel.gif] References 1. mailto:denise_stelmat@yahoo.com 2. ****://thebestof.dynalias.com/images...=80a13c0db1f38 |
|
|||
|
I don't know any of you, but I needed to join this just to reply to the phishing issue. I am the REAL Denise Stelmat and have discovered that my good name is being slammed all over the internet due to someone stealing my name!! I don't know any of this info on the Apple iPod thing, and have reported this fraud to Yahoo,paypal and ebay that this "Michael R. Murphy" person is ***uming to be me. And its been going around for more than a year??? How do you know that?? Is there something else I can do to clear my name and get rid of this hoax??
Denise Stelmat |
|
|||
|
SCAM if it does not say
Dear FIRST AND LAST NAME, BLAH BLAH BLAH Then it is a fake... MAKE SURE YOUR FULL NAME IS IN THE INTRO. Any links in the mail and it is not something you are EXPECTING, its a fake. DON"TTTTTTT follow the link and login. You are NOT logging into paypal, you are sending your INFO to the phisher |
|
|||
|
It's not sent from PayPal! It's a phishing scam where the scammers wants you to click on the link in the mail and enter your confidential information like credit card numbers and log-in details.
If it says "Dear member", "Dear costumer" or "Dear email@adress.com", the mails are always scams. The scammers send out thousands of these emails, and don't know your name. That's why they call you "member" or "customer" instead. Some scammers have programs that calls you by your email address instead. Read more about phishing scams. There's lots of information on the internet. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|